Safe Environment Program Council

The purpose of the Safe Environment Program Council is to assist the Office of Child and Youth Protection of the Diocese of Kansas City – St. Joseph in meeting its mission in the following ways:

  • Promotion of the value and necessity of a safe environment program for the Diocese
  • Recommendation of procedures to ensure a high quality and consistent safe environment program across the Diocese
  • Recruitment and retention of facilitators for VIRTUS Protecting God’s Children for Adults® and other safe environment training programs
  • Recruitment and retention of local Safe Environment Coordinators (SECs)
  • Guidance in the development of best practices for VIRTUS facilitators and local SECs
  • Evaluation of the safe environment program of the Diocese


Members of the Safe Environment Program Council shall be persons that currently serve as trained facilitators of Protecting God’s Children for Adults® or as local SECs. Experienced persons, with a desire to assist in the continual improvement of the Diocese’s safe environment program, will be sought for membership. The Council shall consist of up to 18 members, in addition to the Safe Environment Program Coordinator and the Director of the Office of Child and Youth Protection. Additional diocesan representatives may be asked to serve on Council subcommittees or work groups as needs are identified.

Length of Term

Council members serve one, two, and three-year terms of appointment. When terms expire, reappointments may be allowed.


Council meetings shall be held up to six times a year for 90 minutes at The Chancery, 20 W. 9th Street, Kansas City, Missouri. A regular meeting date and time will be determined based upon Council member preferences. Additional subcommittee or work group meetings may also be held. Meetings will be chaired by the Safe Environment Program Coordinator with ground rules established at the first scheduled meeting of each calendar year.


Joan Barrett, Facilitator (St. Therese (North) Parish, Kansas City)

Katherine Brown, SEC (St. George Parish, Odessa)

Robert Baum, Facilitator (Holy Rosary Parish, Clinton)

Ramonda Doakes, SEC (St. Monica Parish, Kansas City)

Susan Duerr, SEC (St. John Francis Regis Parish, Kansas City)

Sandy Gagnon, Facilitator and SEC (St. James Parish, Liberty)

Angela Garcia, Facilitator and SEC (St. Gabriel Parish, Kansas City)

Laurie Jo Watson, Facilitator and SEC (Guardian Angels Parish, Kansas City)

Becky Kiefer, Facilitator (St. Therese (North) Parish, Kansas City)

Cathie Liccar, SEC (St. Margaret Parish, Lee’s Summit)

Susan Mantzey, Facilitator and SEC (St. Robert Bellarmine Parish, Blue Springs)

Pat McDonald, SEC (Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, Kansas City)

Mary Morgan, Facilitator and SEC (St. Munchin Parish, Cameron)

Devin Reed, SEC (St. Gregory Barbarigo Parish, Maryville)

Kirstie Roberts, SEC (St. Sabina Parish, Belton)

Carrie Cooper, OCYP Director (Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph)

Don Stubbings, Council Chairperson (Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph Safe Environment Program Coordinator)

©2024 Diocese of Kansas City–St. Joseph