Divine Worship

Welcome to the Office of Divine Worship!

The Office of Divine Worship for the Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph assists the bishop in liturgical matters and serves as a resource for parishes and individuals for formation and training.

We are here to assist you in your liturgical needs; feel free to contact us!


Updates from the Office of Divine Worship

+ Liturgy Planning: liturgy planning sheets for confirmation, Mass with the bishop, etc. are available in the sidebar of this page, or by emailing Lorie Sage at sage@diocesekcsj.org.

+Diocesan Choir: The Kansas City-St. Joseph Diocesan Choir is a music ministry dedicated to the mission of fostering and encouraging full, conscious, and active participation in the liturgy in the Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph. The Choir rehearses to prepare for special diocesan celebrations, such as Rite of Election, Adult Confirmation, Golden Wedding Anniversary and more. For more information or to sign up, contact Mario Pearson at mpearson@kcgolddome.org

Upcoming Events

August 21: Sing the Seasons 2019

Join World Library Publications for a special choral reading session guided by Alan Hommerding, senior liturgy publications editor. Local music directors and music & liturgy decision-makers are invited to come and discover new seasonal liturgical pieces from WLP and will be given a packet of music to take home. RSVP at singtheseasons.com.

  • Wednesday, August 21, 7 pm: St. Mark Parish (3636 S. Lee’s Summit Road, Independence, MO 64055) RSVP at singtheseasons.com.

Sing the Seasons 2019 Flyer

7 de Septiembre: Taller de Música Litúrgica para Músicos Hispansos/Liturgical Music Workshop for Hispanic Musicians

La Officina de Culto Divino ha invitado a Pedro Rubalcava a impartir un taller sobre música litúrgica en el Centro Catòlico. Esta presentaciòn será en Español. Precio de la inscripciòn $10 por persona. Para más informaciòn: Armando Hernandez, pantera42@hotmail.com/920-287-1309

The Office of Divine Worship has invited Pedro Rubalcava to give a workshop on liturgical music at the Catholic Center. This presentation will be in Spanish. $10 registration fee per person, accepted at the door. For more information: Armando Hernandez, pantera42@hotmail.com/920-287-1309

  • Sábado 7 de Septiembre, 9 am-12 pm: el Centro Catòlico (20 W 9th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105)

PDF: Folleto del Evento

PDF: Event Flyer

September 14: 1st Annual ‘In His Presence’ Eucharistic Conference

The Eucharist is “the source and summit of the Christian life” (Lumen Gentium, 11): learn and grow more in the Faith at the 1st diocesan Eucharistic Conference, sponsored by the Office of Divine Worship. Talk topics include ‘Fruits of Eucharistic Adoration, Eucharistic miracles, what the saints say, Eucharistic Adoration and healing, and starting & maintaining parish Eucharistic Adoration. Registration $10, lunch included.

  • September 14, 9 am-3 pm: Coronation of Our Lady Parish (13000 Bennington Avenue Grandview, MO 64030). Register Here…

Conference Flyer

Conference Schedule/Flyer

September 16: Diocesan Reader Training Workshop

Training to clearly and distinctly read for liturgy; good refresher as well for current readers! Please contact your parish prior to registering; $30 per participant will be charge to each parish represented. Registration deadline September 13.

  • September 16, 7-9 pm: Nativity of Mary Parish (10017 E 36th Terrace S, Independence, Mo. 64052). Register Here…

September 23: Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion Workshop

Training to serve as an Extraordinary Minister of Holy Communion. Please contact your parish prior to registering; $30 per participant will be charged to each parish represented. Light dinner will be provided. Registration deadline September 20.

  • September 23, 6-8:30 pm: Nativity of Mary Parish (10017 E 36th Terrace S, Independence, Mo. 64052).Register Here…

October 16: Sick and Homebound Ministry Training Workshop

Training to effectively minister to the sick and homebound; training as an extraordinary minister of Holy Communion is a prerequisite. Please contact your parish prior to registering; $30 per participant will be charged to each parish represented. Light dinner will be provided. Registration deadline October 15.

  • October 16, 6-9 pm: Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (416 W 12th Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64105). Register Here…

October 26: Month of the Holy Rosary-Procession & Mass in honor of Mary, Queen and Mother of Mercy

“Just as two friends, frequently in each other’s company, tend to develop similar habits, so too, by holding familiar converse with Jesus and the Blessed Virgin, by meditating on the mysteries of the Rosary and by living the same life in Holy Communion, we can become, to the extent of our lowliness, similar to them and can learn from these supreme models a life of humility, poverty, hiddenness, patience and perfection.” Bl. Bartolo Longo

October is the Month of the Holy Rosary: a procession in honor of Mary, Queen and Mother of Mercy will be held 10 a.m.-12 pm Saturday, October 26.

Schedule includes 10 a.m. Rosary beginning in St. Patrick parish in Kansas City, Mo. (1357 NE 42nd Terrace, Kansas City, Mo. 64116) followed by a Marian procession to Divine Mercy Park where a balloon rosary will be launched. The procession then returns to St. Patrick’s for noon Mass presided by Bishop Johnston and a luncheon hosted by the Columbiettes. All are welcome to attend!

Flyer: Rosary Procession & Mass

Word Document: Rosary Procession schedule

November 16: Lourdes Virtual Pilgrimage Experience (Plenary Indulgence opportunity)

Brought to our diocese by Our Lady of Lourdes Hospitality North American Volunteers, this experience of the Lourdes Grotto where Mary appeared to St. Bernadette features Lourdes Water, rock from the Grotto, Eucharistic blessing, confessions, Mass and a candlelight Rosary. Day begins at 11:30 am, with 1:30-2:15 pm confessions and a 2:30 pm Mass. For more information, contact Lorie Sage (816-756-1850 x 242 or sage@diocesekcsj.org).

©2019 Diocese of Kansas City–St. Joseph