April 10: 11 am Good Friday Litany to the Sacred Heart

Join Archbishop José Gomez, president of the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops and archbishop of Los Angeles, in a national moment of prayer in the time of the coronavirus. Together as a nation, we will pray the Litany of the Sacred Heart of Jesus and seek our savior’s healing and protection.

(Archbishop Gomez’ invitation message)

When?
Good Friday, April 10
12pm Eastern || 11am Central || 10am Mountain || 9am Pacific

Where?

Livestreamed on the Los Angeles Archdiocese website here, or on the USCCB Facebook page.

What Will I Need?

The Litany to the Sacred Heart (PDF) (PNG version for social media)

Receive a Plenary Indulgence
By a special grant from the Apostolic Penitentiary of the Holy See for those who pray for the end of the pandemic, a plenary indulgence is available for those who join Archbishop Gomez in praying the Litany of the Sacred Heart on Good Friday.  A plenary Indulgence removes all of the temporal punishment due to sins and may be applied to oneself or to the souls of the deceased [Catechism of the Catholic Church, no. 1471].

To receive this indulgence, a member of the faithful would need to:

-pray the Litany of the Sacred Heart on Good Friday
be truly repentant of any sins they have committed and receive the Sacrament of Reconciliation (at the earliest opportunity)
-pray for the Holy Father’s intentions.

Related Diocesan News

©2020 Diocese of Kansas City–St. Joseph